Kicking the Canon (One More Time): Bob Dylan, ‘John Wesley Harding’

jwhThe Kicking the Canon project ends today, but not before allowing me one final opportunity to talk about Bob Dylan: My take on the wonderfully weird, alluringly mysterious John Wesley Harding is available for your reading pleasure.

I should say that, when I heard this project was ending, I was midway through another Dylan retrospective, this one of Time Out of Mind. I may one day complete the thing, because why not, but until then, here’s my opening salvo: “Who says Bob Dylan left his Born Again days behind? Here is his Book of Psalms, his Lamentations– his resurrection from the dead.”

Leave a Reply

